A brief history of money in the world and in Russia: how did monetary relations originate and develop?

Money is a fundamental subject of economic relations in modern society. Thoughts about them are firmly entrenched in our head: for someone it is an object of insatiable desire, and for someone it is a tool for satisfying needs and a means of self-realization. We can no longer imagine our life without money and sometimes we think that money has always existed. However, it is not. From this article you will learn a short history of the origin of money and the development of monetary relations in the world and in Russia.

Contents:
  • 1. A brief history of money in the world

    • 1.1 Barter exchange
    • 1.2 The appearance of the first coins
    • 1.3 The emergence of paper money
  • 2. A brief history of money in Russia

    • 2.1 The appearance of money in Russia
    • 2.2 Money of Tsarist Russia
    • 2.3 Money of Russia before 1997
    • 2.4 All modern Russian banknotes
  • Conclusion: the future of money

1. A brief history of money in the world

1.1 Barter exchange

In the early stages of the development of human society, people did not need money for money. The large family produced all the necessary household items and food products on their own. Subsequently, people realized that it was easier and more efficient to specialize in a separate branch of craft or agriculture. But how to get the goods missing for the family? Of course, exchange your abundant goods for the necessary ones. This is how a barter exchange appeared - the transfer of property to one party by transferring another property of a similar or equal value to the other party.

Apparently, the barter exchange was born somehow;)

Various things can act as objects of barter exchange. Grain and livestock were the most popular because they were the easiest to sell. However, along with barter exchange, transaction costs arose: grain must be stored somewhere, and livestock needs constant care and nutrition. Therefore, people began to use smaller means of exchange: skins of fur-bearing animals, feathers of birds, stones of a special shape or Kauri (Tsiprei) shells, impaled on a thread.

Kauri shells are the most stylish exchange method

1.2 The appearance of the first coins

Despite all their attractiveness, the shells or skins of animals deteriorate and are relatively easily accessible. Non-ferrous metals are another matter. Money made from gold, silver or copper is much easier to shape into any desired shape, as well as to protect against counterfeiting and use in the trading process.

The first coins appeared in Rome about 2500 years ago and are associated with the formation of such a phenomenon as a state. It was the state that assumed the responsibility to produce money and control its circulation and quality. Initially, coins were introduced as a means of making bulk purchases and paying taxes. But later, smaller monetary units began to appear, which made it possible to make small purchases.

Coins of different states had different types and values. Usually they were round or oval with a protective seal and the image of the ruler. For example, this is how the Darik coin of the Persian Empire looked like with the image of the ruler Darius:

Golden gift

But these were the coins of Russia at the turn of the 10th century:

Coins of Russia - 10th century

1.3 The emergence of paper money

The pioneers in the creation of paper money were the Chinese, who began to write down the amount of "debt" on the specially treated skin of animals with identification marks when carrying out a trade transaction in order to pay for goods.

The first paper Chinese money

European countries came to the idea of ​​creating paper money only during the development of banking and international trade in the 17th century. Bankers accepted clients' money for safekeeping, and in return they issued a kind of receipts through which they could take their funds back. Subsequently, the bank's client could receive a document confirming that a certain number of coins were stored on his account and allowing some of them to be removed from storage. Such documents began to be called "banknotes" and were used to conclude large transactions without the direct transfer of money.

Based on this practice, the states came to the conclusion about the need to create their own national Central Banks, which would be engaged in the centralized production of paper money backed by gold and silver. With the development of the printing business, the quality of banknotes and the degree of their protection has improved, increasing the degree of confidence in them on the part of citizens. England, France and Sweden became the leaders in the field of creating paper money.

The first paper money of France, England and Sweden

2. A brief history of money in Russia

2.1 The appearance of money in Russia

At the beginning, in Russia, coins were in circulation, which were obtained in the process of trade with Arab merchants. The money received from them was called kuna, and part of it was cut. Then they began to use the hryvnia - a part of women's jewelry in the form of a necklace made of precious metal, most often silver.

Arabian kuna

As a result of the Tatar-Mongol invasion, the culture of Russia suffered degradation and valuable ingots came to replace round coins. But already at the beginning of the 13th century, individual principalities again began to acquire their own coins.

After the unification of Russia by Ivan III into a single state, a single mint appeared with a common national accounting unit - the ruble and its component - the penny. The first official mention of the penny was in the reign of Ivan III, but some historians suggest that the prototype of the penny was created much earlier. Nevertheless, it was from the time of the reign of Ivan III that we can say that the main monetary unit in Russia was a penny.

The penny of Ivan III is the main currency of Russia

2.2 Money of Tsarist Russia

The main monetary reform in tsarist and later imperial Russia was carried out by Peter I, who issued new types of coins and standardized the terms of exchange between them. So he established that 1 ruble is equal to 100 kopecks and issued the following coins:

  • fifty kopecks - 50 kopecks;
  • half a ruble - 25 kopecks;
  • dime - 10 kopecks;
  • heel - 5 kopecks;
  • altyn - 3 kopecks.

Coins of Peter I

The first paper money in the Russian Empire appeared thanks to Catherine II, who introduced banknotes in denominations of 25, 50, 75 and 100 rubles. Paper notes under Catherine II show the essence of inflation against the background of a shortage of non-ferrous metals. In order to avoid the lack of silver and gold, they began to use copper. However, copper coins, equivalent to silver and gold, were very bulky and heavy. The first paper notes have successfully dealt with this problem. People liked Catherine II's paper notes so much that they were affectionately nicknamed "katenka" among the people.

Paper "katenki" Catherine II

2.3 Money of Russia before 1997

The First World War and the October Revolution destroyed the Russian Empire and its financial and monetary system. These shocks led to the need to issue new paper money - "kerenkami". What are Kerenki? Kerenki are paper notes that were issued in 1917 by the Provisional Government. In fact, the Kerenki were practically not provided with anything and did not have any levels of protection. Because of this, people did not feel trust in them and preferred to use the old "good" gold and silver coins.

"Kerenki" without serial numbers and protective equipment

In 1922, chervonets were first issued. The chervonets is a separate monetary unit, which was equal to 10 tsarist gold rubles. Thanks to this reform, the Soviet government managed to establish economic relations and increase commodity circulation between citizens.

"Leninsky" chervonets "

But the ducat was a very large currency. To make it convenient to handle in practice, 1 silver ruble was issued, as well as treasury notes in denominations of 1, 3 and 5 rubles. To exchange one ruble, coins were introduced in denominations of 1, 2, 3, 5, 10, 15, 20 and 50 kopecks.

The 1961 reform strengthened the Soviet ruble even more, since at the legislative level it increased its purchasing power by 10 times.

Soviet money 1961

2.4 All modern Russian banknotes

The national currency of modern Russia has undergone many changes in connection with the political and economic disasters that occurred after the collapse of the Soviet Union. At the moment in Russia there are banknotes in circulation in denominations of 10, 50, 100, 200, 500, 1000, 2000 and 5000 rubles, as well as coins in the amount of 1, 2, 5 and 10 rubles.

Russian bills since 2006

In December 2017, new banknotes in denominations of 200 and 2000 rubles were introduced into circulation:



New bills introduced since 2017

Conclusion: the future of money

Since the beginning of the 20th century, most countries began to experience difficulties in providing their national currencies with gold due to its deficit, world wars and major economic crises. Therefore, the countries abandoned the gold standard and switched to a floating exchange rate for currencies and gold.

The development of information technologies and the free formation of exchange rates have made it possible to create electronic means of payments that are safer, more convenient and economical. According to statistics, paper money goes out of circulation (tears and its quality is lost) every 2 - 3 years, depending on the face value. In addition, over the entire cycle of its existence, money is in the hands of hundreds of people on different continents and contributes to the spread of various infections. Thanks to this stage, bank cards and e-wallets are becoming more and more popular both for private purchases and for concluding a multi-million dollar deal.

However, traditional money has a number of disadvantages, which are associated with its complete control by the state and potentially unlimited emission. This problem is solved by cryptocurrencies, which, thanks to blockchain technology, are decentralized and independent of specific groups of people. Cryptocurrencies allow you to transfer any amount to any part of the world for a standard minimum commission, and also have a limited release, which in the future, with an increase in demand, leads to an increase in demand.

Cryptocurrencies are the future of the economy

2020 turned out to be one of the most favorable for cryptocurrencies and showed interest in them from institutional investors, as well as ordinary people who are looking for a protective asset for their savings. We are confident that cryptocurrencies in the future will take one of the leading places in the field of monetary relations.

leave a comment


Information
Visitors in the group Guests, can not leave comments on this publication.

  1. kiryamalik
    15.05.2021 08:01
    #7
    Always loved to read the chronology, thanks for the interesting article
  2. ilya28087
    11.02.2021 23:43
    #6
    Thank you for such an interesting article, I can't imagine how long it took to write it. Regarding cryptocurrency, the increased interest in it after the start of the pandemic clearly means that it still has a future, but what I think we will soon find out.
  3. gilew455
    11.01.2021 14:46
    #5
    Everyone is probably wondering how the future of cryptocurrency will unfold. Of Russia
    I ignore the prohibitions puts taxes in the driver, although money for development is not given for what to pay taxes is not clear.
  4. Anzhel
    11.01.2021 08:28
    #4
    Thanks for the historical article
  5. AlexanderKudrya8027
    30.12.2020 17:28
    #3
    it is not entirely clear why this article (probably for general development) on the blog of HYIP projects. it was just interesting to read about the crypt, but everything else .... I don't want to offend anyone)) I also think that crypt will take first place in the field of monetary relations, because blockchain is the future. Thanks for the article)) Keep it up!
  6. akimskate
    30.12.2020 16:02
    #2
    Interesting, informative article)
  7. Famchik
    29.12.2020 23:33
    #1
    I wildly doubt that cryptocurrency will be the future, at least if it doesn't change, and why. Yes, only for the reasons that if we are allowed to go buy pizza, then the commission will cost more than the same pizza, I will only hope that everything will change in the future

Краткая история денег в мире и России: как зарождались и развивались денежные отношения?

Деньги – основополагающий предмет экономических отношений в современном обществе. Мысли о них прочно засели в нашей голове: для кого – то это объект ненасытного вожделения, а для кого – то инструмент для удовлетворения потребностей и средство самореализации. Мы уже не представляем свою жизнь без денег и порой думаем, что деньги существовали всегда. Однако, это не так. Из этой статьи вы узнаете краткую историю возникновения денег и развития денежных отношений в мире и России.

Содержание:
  • 1. Краткая история денег в мире

    • 1.1 Бартерный обмен
    • 1.2 Появление первых монет
    • 1.3 Появление бумажных денег
  • 2. Краткая история денег в России

    • 2.1 Появление денег на Руси
    • 2.2 Деньги царской России
    • 2.3 Деньги России до 1997 года
    • 2.4 Все современные российские купюры
  • Заключение: будущее денег

1. Краткая история денег в мире

1.1 Бартерный обмен

На ранних этапах развития человеческого общества потребности в деньгах у людей не возникало. Все нужные предметы быта и продукты питания многочисленная семья производила самостоятельно. В последующем люди поняли, что проще и эффективнее специализироваться на отдельной отрасли ремесла или земледелия. Но как получить недостающие семье товары? Конечно же, обменять свой товар, имеющийся в избытке, на необходимый. Так появился бартерный обмен – передача имущества одной стороне за счёт передачи другого имущества схожей или равной стоимости другой стороне.

Видимо, бартерный обмен зарождался как – то так;)

В качестве объектов бартерного обмена могут выступать различные вещи. Самыми популярными были зерно и скот, поскольку их было проще всего реализовать. Однако, вместе с бартерным обменом возникали операционные издержки: зерно надо где – то хранить, а скот нуждается в постоянном уходе и питании. Поэтому люди стали использовать более мелкие средства обмена: шкурки пушных зверей, перья птиц, камни особой формы или раковины Каури (Ципреи), насаженные на нитку.

Раковины Каури – самый стильный метод обмена

1.2 Появление первых монет

Несмотря на всю свою привлекательность, ракушки или шкурки зверей портятся и являются сравнительно легкодоступными. Другое дело – цветные металлы. Деньгам, сделанным из золота, серебра или меди, гораздо проще придать любую требуемую форму, а также защитить от подделки и использовать в процессе торговли.

Первые монеты появились в Риме около 2500 лет назад и связаны с формированием такого явления как государство. Именно государство взяло на себя обязанность производить деньги и контролировать их оборот и качество. Изначально монеты вводились как средство для осуществления оптовых закупок и уплаты налогов. Но позже стали появляться более мелкие денежные единицы, которые позволили делать мелкие покупки.

Монеты разных государств имели различный вид и ценность. Обычно они были круглые или овальные с защитной печатью и изображением правителя. К примеру, вот как выглядела монета дарик Персидской империи с изображением правителя Дария:

Золотой дарик

А вот такими были монеты Руси на рубеже 10 – ого века:

Монеты Руси – 10–ый век

1.3 Появление бумажных денег

Первопроходцами в создании бумажных денег были китайцы, которые стали записывать на специально обработанную кожу зверей с опознавательными знаками сумму «долга» при осуществлении торговой операции с целью оплаты товара.

Первые бумажные китайские деньги

Европейские страны пришли к идее создания бумажных денег только в процессе развития банковского дела и международной торговли в 17 веке. Банкиры принимали деньги клиентов на хранение, а взамен выдали своеобразные расписки, посредством которых можно было забрать свои средства обратно. В последующем клиент банка мог получить документ, подтверждающий, что на его счету храниться определённое число монет и позволяющий изымать часть из них из хранения. Такие документы начали называть «банкнотами» и использовать их заключении крупных сделок без прямой передачи денег.

На основе этой практики государства пришли к выводу о необходимости создания собственных национальных Центральных Банков, которые бы занимались централизованным изготовлением бумажных денег, обеспеченных золотом и серебром. С развитием печатного дела качество банкнот и степень их защиты усовершенствовалась, увеличивая степень доверия к ним со стороны граждан. Лидерами в области создания бумажных денег стали Англия, Франция и Швеция.

Первые бумажные деньги Франции, Англии и Швеции

2. Краткая история денег в России

2.1 Появление денег на Руси

В начале на Руси были в обращении монеты, которые были получены в процессе торговли с арабскими купцами. Деньги, получены от них, называли куной, а часть от неё – резаной. Затем стали применять гривну – часть женского украшения в виде ожерелья, сделанного из драгоценного металла, чаще всего серебра.

Арабская куна

В результате татаро – монгольского нашествия культура Руси потерпела деградацию и на смену круглым монетам пришли ценные слитки. Но уже в начале 13 – ого века отдельные княжества снова стали обзаводиться своими собственными монетами.

После объединения Руси Иваном III в единое государство появился единый монетный двор с общей национальной счётной единицей – рублём и её составляющей – копейкой. Первое официальное упоминание о копейке пришлось именно на царствование Ивана III, но некоторые историки предполагают, что прообраз копейки был создан намного раньше. Тем не менее именно с момента правления Ивана III можно говорить, что основной денежной единицей на Руси была копейка.

Копейка Ивана III основная денежная единица Руси

2.2 Деньги царской России

Главную денежную реформу в царской и в последующем императорской России провёл Петр I, который выпустил новые типы монет и стандартизировал условия обмена между ними. Так он установил, что 1 рубль равен 100 копейкам и выпустил следующие монеты:

  • полтинник – 50 копеек;
  • полуполтинник – 25 копеек;
  • гривенник – 10 копеек;
  • пяточок – 5 копеек;
  • алтын – 3 копейки.

Монеты Петра I

Первые бумажные деньги в Российской империи появились благодаря Екатерине II, которая ввела банкноты номиналом 25, 50, 75 и 100 рублей. Бумажные ассигнации при Екатерине II показывают суть инфляции на фоне дефицита цветных металлов. Для того, чтобы избежать недостатка серебра и золота стали использовать медь. Однако, медные монеты, эквивалентные серебряным и золотым, были очень громоздкими и тяжёлыми. Первые бумажные ассигнации успешно справились с данной проблемой. Бумажные ассигнации Екатерины II настолько понравились людям, что в народе их ласково прозвали «катеньками».

Бумажные «катеньки» Екатерины II

2.3 Деньги России до 1997 года

Первая мировая война и Октябрьская революция уничтожила Российскую Империю и её финансово – денежную систему. Данные потрясения привели к необходимости выпуска новых бумажных денег – «керенкам». Что такое керенки? Керенки – это бумажные ассигнации, которые были выпущены в 1917 году Временным правительством. По – факту керенки были практически ничем не обеспечены и не имели никаких уровней защиты. Из – за этого люди не испытывали доверия к ним и предпочитали использовать старые «добрые» золотые и серебряные монеты.

«Керенки» без серийных номеров и средств защиты

В 1922 году впервые были выпущены червонцы. Червонец – отдельная денежная единица, которые была равна 10 царским золотым рублям. Благодаря данной реформе советскому правительству удалось наладить экономические отношения и увеличить товарные оборот между гражданами.

«Ленинский» червонец»

Но червонец был очень крупной денежной единицей. Чтобы на практике с ним было удобно обращаться, был выпущен 1 серебряный рубль, а также казначейские ассигнации номиналом 1, 3 и 5 рублей. Для размена одного рубля ввели монеты номиналом в 1, 2, 3, 5, 10, 15, 20 и 50 копеек.

Реформа 1961 года ещё сильнее укрепило советский рубль, поскольку на законодательном уровне увеличило его покупательскую способность в 10 раз.

Советские деньги 1961 года

2.4 Все современные российские купюры

Национальная валюта современной России претерпевала множество изменений в связи с политическими и экономическими катастрофами, произошедшими после распада Советского Союза. На данный момент в России находятся в обороте банкноты номиналом 10, 50, 100, 200, 500, 1000, 2000 и 5000 рублей, а также монеты суммой в 1, 2, 5 и 10 рублей.

Российские купюры с 2006 года

В декабре 2017 года в оборот были введены новые купюры номиналом в 200 и 2000 рублей:



Новые купюры введённые с 2017 года

Заключение: будущее денег

С начала 20 века большинство стран начали испытывать трудности с обеспечением своих национальных валют золотом из – за его дефицита, мировых войн и крупнейших экономических кризисов. Поэтому страны отказались от золотого стандарта и перешли на плавающий курс обмена валют и золота.

Развитие информационных технологий и свободное формирование курсов валют позволило создать электронные средства платежей, которые являются более безопасными, удобными и экономичными. По статистике, бумажные деньги выходят из оборота (рвутся и теряются своё качество) каждые 2 – 3 года в зависимости от номинала. Кроме того, за весь цикл своего существования деньги пребывают в руках сотен людей на разных континентах и способствуют распространению различных инфекций. Благодаря этапу банковские карты и электронные кошельки становятся всё более популярными как при совершении частных покупок, так и при заключении многомиллионной сделки.

Однако традиционные деньги имеют ряд недостатков, которые связаны с их полным контролем со стороны государства и потенциально неограниченной эмиссией. Данную проблему решают криптовалюты, которые благодаря технологии блокчейн являются децентрализованными и независящими от конкретных групп людей. Криптовалюты позволяют переводить любые суммы в любые части мира за стандартную минимальную комиссию, а также имеют ограниченный выпуск, что в будущем при увеличении спроса приводит к увеличению спроса.

Криптовалюты – будущее экономики

2020 год оказался одним из самых благоприятных для криптовалют и показал интерес к ним со стороны институциональных инвесторов, а также простых людей, который ищут защитный актив для своих сбережений. Мы уверены, что криптовалюты в будущем займут одно из лидирующих мест в сфере осуществления денежных отношений.

Оставить комментарий


Информация
Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.

  1. gilew455
    11.01.2021 14:46
    #5
    Интересно всем наверное как развернуться будущее криптавлюты. России
    Я игнорирует запреты ставит налоги в водит хотя денег на развитие не дают за что платить налоги не понятно.
  2. Anzhel
    11.01.2021 08:28
    #4
    Спасибо за историческую статью
  3. AlexanderKudrya8027
    30.12.2020 17:28
    #3
    не совсем понятно зачем эта статья(наверное для общего развития) на блоге хайп проектов. просто про крипту интересно было почитать, а все остальное .... Не хочу никого обидеть)) Я тоже считаю что крипта займет первое место в сфере осуществления денежных отношений, потому что блокчейн это будущее. Спасибо за статью)) Так держать!
  4. akimskate
    30.12.2020 16:02
    #2
    Интересно, познавательная статья)
  5. Famchik
    29.12.2020 23:33
    #1
    Дико сомневаюсь в том что криптовалюта станет будущем, по крайней мере если не измениться, а почему. Да только по тем причинам, что если допустим пойти купить пиццу, то комиссия будет стоить дороже той же пиццы, буду надеяться только на то что все в будущем измениться